Cheers!


Alas, the end is here. This is not a proclamation of the apocalypse, of that end I do not know. But the omega of the year two thousand and ten is upon us.

It is on December 31st when many begin to reflect on the 364 days, 52 weeks, 12 months that have passed in recognition of their achievements but most importantly in the evidence of their failures. Why is that? Why are we more likely to acknowledge our shortcomings as opposed to our successes? I have pondered over the year all day and it puzzles me that I cannot remember one resolution of 2010 that I achieved. However, I can rattle off without hesitation those I did not.

Please don’t misunderstand; I have had a very good year. To have awakened every day is a success in and of itself. But there were other accomplishments. I made it to the state of my birth (Alaska) after a thirty year absence, I was blessed to meet an extension of my family, and I was trusted with a promotion at work. I also triumphed over fear and started writing again; you are currently reading the evidence of this success. There are many other things, things that cannot be measured but are equally as important.

In the doctor’s office yesterday, while ear hustlin’ (hi, my name is Shannon and I am an eavesdropper) I overheard the conversation of two women with many decades behind them and hopefully, a few ahead of them. One was wearing Coach sneakers, presumably from a granddaughter trying to keep ‘Nana’ hip with coffee brown stockings. She was telling the other how she only makes resolutions every ten years because if what she did for one year worked, why change it for at least another nine? I laughed to myself before exiting the waiting room with her idea in my mind. Truthfully, I think I may have had the same declarations on January 1st for the last ten years.

I am compelled to believe that the reason they have followed me year after year is because I have made unrealistic resolutions. So this year, I will make just one; one that can be achieved with enough sacrifice to make me appreciate its reward but without so much effort that I become discouraged in its attempt.

I resolve to live.

Here’s wishing that 2011 brings you everything you need and most of what you want.

7 thoughts on “Cheers!

  1. Yes, another year has pass and some of us have not searched deep down in they hearts to make that change or changes that will get them closer to the goals of 2011 for success.

  2. “For last year’s words belong to last year’s language And next year’s words await another voice. And to make an end is to make a beginning”. – T.S. Eliot

  3. Happy New Year, dear one. I thoroughly enjoy reading your work and look forward to each new posting. Rejoice in what you have accomplished this previous year . . . using that as a foundation, 2011 has limitless possibilities . . .

  4. I love this post, Shannon! So true! We all promise ourselves to do so much, are frustrated when we do not accomplished said list, and judge ourselves too harshly. I, too, eavesdrop – what a great way to learn – and often think that we should listen to the wise advise of those older than ourselves. Thank you and Happy New Year to you and yours! 🙂

  5. Shannon,

    You my friend, are perfect. I applaud you for being right you are. Maybe I do so because you allow me, as a friend (and what a gift to be called a friend of yours) to be right where I am.

    Your writing is fantastic. You are is even more glorious.

    I suspect that such a resolve for 2011 will yield results beyond your wildest.

    SPB is all over 2011. I love it.

    Love,
    Cooper

What's on your mind?

