The Rhythm In My Blues


Attention Listeners: there are far too many links in this post, to this I confess and acknowledge that it is in poor taste to blog in this fashion, but I’ve been known to commit a fashion faux pas or two in my day…

Sunday, I rode down I-40 with the sunroof open, enjoying the warmth of the 74 degrees. My curls wildly blew with the force of the wind at 74 miles per hour. My voice stretched and strained to meet Carrie on every note and all that mattered in those 7.4 miles was that I was an angry, country girl who knew how to swing a bat to get some revenge!

 

Before He Cheats does something to me. It changes me from being socially awkward around strangers to singing karaoke on a ship in the middle of the Atlantic. I transform from a forgiving woman to a take-no-crap vigilante. I like the Carrie Underwood inspired me, for all of 3 minutes and 20 seconds but then I digress.

My current self sings a medley of Nine to Five, To Zion and I Will Survive but in truth you gotta’ mix in a little wit and sarcasm from Lily Allen to get the total picture. Sometimes I get a small glimpse into the old me, like when I’m sitting at my desk and Biggie Smalls or Lil’ Kim circa 2000 comes on my Pandora “College Days” station. WARNING: Clicking these links could visually and/or audibly contaminate your wholesome nature, for this I hold no responsibility.

Then there’s the very old me who used to sing Greatest Love Of All and Girls Just Want To Have Fun into a hairbrush in the hall bathroom.

At other times, I feel the strong, confident, feminist me I know I am meant to be, like when I Am Woman graces the airwaves and reminds me to unite in the fight of sisterhood. But then I Need Love comes on and all that She-Ra talk is muted by images of the sexy, chivalrous, lip-licking L.L.

Saturday mornings, with mop in hand, I enjoy drowning out the sound of the washing machine with 80’s hits like Before I Let Go and I Wonder If I Take You Home. But I ain’t gonna lie cause on Saturday nights, I might just be Cleanup Woman at the local Hole In The Wall …don’t judge me, or my $3 fish plate I got on the way out.

The energy of a live performance of local band Jus Once (featuring my dear friend Ron “Kitty” White) with their gogo fusion style or Shana Tucker and her collaboration of eclectic musicians is both infectious and outrageous. Whether you succumb to their style or not, you cannot deny the blend of harmonic accompaniment and melodic voices and it’s dynamic influence on the movement of your body.

With all of these great musical memories, the rhythm that erupts in my soul and interrupts my blues is best experienced in the presence of a community of people who have the strength to sustain and the mercy to maintain, a people who pour out their soul in spiritual hymns like I Really Love The Lord, and God Is Trying To Tell Somebody.

Thank you for listening to WSPB where the blues meets the blog (in my Ted Williams voice)…

2 thoughts on “The Rhythm In My Blues

  1. Do you use the mop or just have it in hand? Do you really wash clothes or is the machine just on? Is the fish “bone-in” or filet? Do you put a ton of Texas Pete on the samich? I know it ain’t nonna my business, but I like sticking my nose in your business. Be Shannon!!!!

What's on your mind?

