Exhumed From the Tomb


‘What is ur tomb constructed with? Do you visit it often? Too often? Live there? Leaving ur tomb requires faith, courage, hope and love of God and Shannon!’ ~text message received from MD

I decided to follow the minister’s challenge from Easter Sunday’s message and pinpoint exactly who or what assembled my tomb(s). Now I believe in boundaries (if there are boundaries in blogging or all forms of social media for that matter) so I’m not about to rattle off a list of offenders, but I will release a few personal revelations.

1. This was no easy task. It’s natural to know people have hurt you but it is quite difficult to travel back in time and remember exactly who and exactly why. It is even more difficult when the damage is situational and not individual. For example, one may blame their child molester for their adult promiscuity but where do they direct the blame for the sexually transmitted disease they contracted during that time if the culprit is unknown.

2. In brooding over those things that others have done to you, you inadvertently recall those things you have done to others (at least half of it, ok, maybe a fourth); that is if you have a conscious and are in the least bit decent but let’s be honest, if you don’t and if you aren’t, you probably are not concerned with living outside the tomb. If you are genuinely trying to come out, you can’t come out hiding behind half the truth. What is done is done, own it, apologize for it, learn from it and move on.

You know what else…just because you are trying to come out doesn’t mean your offender will; your tomb may be their home. For the record, I don’t want to be in my own tomb and I don’t want to be in yours either!

3. At some point you realize that much of the tomb is built by your own hands. Maybe you didn’t lay the initial brick, or lay the complete foundation, but you didn’t need any help enclosing yourself. I realize that in some cases, I have closed the tomb over and over again as if putting a box in a box in a box. In other instances, I have found my way out of the tomb and then found my way right back in. I give the slow head shake-horizontally, to the idiot who continues to go to jail for the exact same thing. Yet I am guilty of the stupidity I mock.

By the way….if you must build tombs, build your own. Don’t go around engineering tombs for other people. Celie said it best in The Color Purple, “The grave you dig fo’ me is the one you gon’ rot in.”

4. There is freedom in speech (this is not a reference to the first amendment to the United States Constitution). Once you have spoken/written those devices of embalmment, your resurrection begins. The revelation is the beginning of the process by which we come out of the tomb. Undoubtedly, you will return to the misery of decay, but acknowledgement is a step toward freedom from darkness and toward light. Who doesn’t want to live in the light?

Today I had the opportunity to be entombed, I elected to be exhumed.

Tomorrow is unknown but I am fighting not to be buried alive. What is keeping you in your tomb?

4 thoughts on “Exhumed From the Tomb

  1. My tomb-My health. This is a good read Shannon. My tomb keeps me from being as fit as I want to be.

  2. My tomb…let’s see…consist of a few bottles of alcohol and forgetn God’s promises…too many times in the past ive had problems and went to alcohol. It was my friend, my healer, but it only healed me for a moment, and we all know what evil things can come out of being drunk all the time. It wasn’t until i had had enough and was tired of running from God that I startd to b delivered. Allowing God to be in the front and take the lead. Instead of saying to myself get behind me satan, I was telling God to get behind me and let Satan handle my business. I couldn’t win or live like that. I allowed him to live in my home, reck relationships that I had and tried to ruin my church, but God had and has a plan for me and the church! I didn’t believe in myself and instead of screamn all the time, I just needed to shut up and listen to God. One day he sent one of his servants to me becasue he knew i had had enough of living in sin and that’s where the healing begin. I have built better relationships with people and when issues big and small come my way I want to handle it in peace. Im not too far from my tomb, but i don’t have an odor anymore that could stink up a room!! Knowing that God will always take care of me is heading my life right now, but I know it’s easy to fall without stayn in the word. We never know what the future holds, but God does and that’s enough for me right now.

  3. This is what resurrection is about! Your exumation is also the resurrection of other females (and males)who have and will experience the tomb you once were living in. Don’t run from who God is recreating you to be. Remember, every “break through” begins with a “break with”! Live! Live! Live!

What's on your mind?

