I Remember Me


I remember me, starting at myself
See these same two eyes, see these same two feet
I remember you, you who I used to be
You still look the same, but you don’t hurt like me
Look at my reflection, somewhere my affection
Disappeared, isn’t here, nothing left to say
Memories they fading, but I’m the one who makes them
But I keep the love close to enough to say

What if this life is all that we’re given
We just can’t stop living, scared of what we see
‘Cuz in this world, anything can hurt you
They push you, then forget you
Stole my history

But I remember me, I remember me

It don’t matter where I go, what I’m told, now you know
I remember me, I remember me
Even if I say goodbye, start to cry, do or die
I remember me

I tell you what my name is
And ain’t nothing gonna change it
‘Cuz what you are is what you are
Even if your memory’s flawed
I go to places, trying to find familiar faces
They don’t show, but I still know
They don’t have to look for me
I dream about, I dream about
The place where all the broken pieces fit together

‘Cuz in this world, anything can hurt you                                                                                                                                                  They push you, then forget you
And stole my history

But I remember me, I remember me
It don’t matter where I go, what I’m told, now you know
I remember me, I remember me
Even if I say goodbye, start to cry, do or die
I remember me

Now all that’s left of these hands, this breathe
I’ve said goodbye to so many things that tears wont cry
And I take this pain, this joy, and rain
‘Cuz all that matters now is
In this life anything can hurt you
Push you, then forget you
Erase your history

But I remember me, I remember me
I remember me, I remember me
Even if I say goodbye, start to cry, do or die                                                                                                                                                  I remember me

I remember me, oh whoa
I remember me, I tell you what my name
I tell you what my name is
Do or die

Every hero has to have theme music, according to John Slade in I’m Gonna Git You Sucka. I would like to thank Jennifer Hudson for providing me with mine. I am a hero. I have superhuman strength and courage which has allowed me to transform into a new creature, a better being. The lyrics above are those of my theme song, my swan song.

See, the woman you see, I see, through these words in 3-D is not the girl that always was. I remember her. Sometimes I hear her cries, her laughter. Other times, I see her pain, her smile. At times, I feel the warmth of her love and the chill of her hurt. Occasionally, I will forget the woman before me today but I always remember the girl of yesterday because she birthed the woman of today.

I remember me plays in this act of my life and I look forward to what plays in the next scene.

2 thoughts on “I Remember Me

What's on your mind?

